What You Need To Know About Bim Level 2

The BIM Levels and Bim Level 2 compliance is now an “accepted” definition of the criteria required for companies to be regarded as BIM-compliant. This involves taking this industry from a drawing board to a computer and finally into the “digital age”.

The government now recognises that the journey involved to move the construction sector to “complete” collaborative working will be progressive and recognisable and that distinct milestones need to be defined in this process, using “levels”. The levels are determined from 0 to 3.

Bim Level 2, broadly speaking, defines how, when, and what information needs to be created, managed, and shared. Here is a list of the critical elements of this level:

  • Employer’s information requirement
  • Individually authored models
  • Collaborative working
  • Information exchange methods
  • Classification of common data
  • Creating federated models

Level 2 BIM is explained and distinguished as collaborative working that requires a process of information exchange specific to the project. This process should also coordinate between the participants of the project and various systems.

The participants should export any of the CAD software to a standard file format like Industry Foundation Class (IFC) or Construction Operations Building Information Exchange (COBie). This method of “work” was set by the UK by the government as the minimum target for any public-sector work.

What Does This Mean In Practice?

In real terms, each step’s importance is that the UK’s government has chosen or adopted this definition within its Construction Strategy, which means that any publicly-funded construction work has to be initiated by using the BIM (Building Information Modelling) to Level 2, by 2016. The mandate involves one of the measures to help fulfil a target of reducing the construction sector’s waste by 20%.

Posted in BIM